Leonard Cohen

Just had one of those nice moments of discovering a new album/artist whilst in the exact most suitable mood to engage with it. LOVE Leonard Cohen’s new album, Old Ideas

The first song is an absolute cracker. Really carefully put together musically; don’t be fooled by the apparent non-singing singing, there are notes in there and he’s putting them just so, and the angelic bvs are also most uplifting. Had to listen twice through straight away. If I may be so bold, the lyrics seemed actually really quite spiritual – they seem to allude obliquely to age and mortality as a falling away of the things, ie of fear and anxiety, rather than a withering of self. Most inspiring on a dreich Monday after a big weekend.

2 thoughts on “Leonard Cohen

  1. “If I may be so bold, the lyrics seemed actually really quite spiritual – they seem to allude obliquely to age and mortality as a falling away of the things, ie of fear and anxiety, rather than a withering of self.”

    Ah, I love Leonard Cohen so much. His music and his way with words. I’ll never grow tired of him. If you like to read, I’d recommend checking out his book(s; I only read Beautiful Losers, but I’m confident his poetry and other novel are just as well-written) – filled with religious/spiritual allusions and beautiful, beautiful prose.

    1. I was so taken with the song I’m going to learn it NOW and play it a bday party tonight. A lovely set of words with which to address a new decade. And thanks for the recommendations, I think I will investigate.

Leave a Reply

